2015 F1 Teams and Drivers

There will only be ten teams that will compete in the 2015 F1 season. Almost all the teams are the same as last year with the exception of McLaren and Manor Racing. McLaren has ended their partnership with Mercedes last year and will now be with Honda. The Japanese engine maker will be collaborating again with McLaren. Marussia, the team which experienced financial difficulties last season will now race under the name Manor Racing. Lastly, Caterham which went into administration late last year and missed the US and Brazilian Grands Prix will not be competing this year after attempts to find a new buyer of the team failed.
Here is a quick rundown of the teams which will be participating this year.

1. Mercedes

Drivers: Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg
Engine: Mercedes

Mercedes hopes to dominate F1 this year just like what they did last season. Despite all the intrigues, Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will still be racing for Mercedes this year using the team’s new W06 hybrid car.

2. Red Bull

Drivers: Daniel Ricciardo and Daniil Kvyat (Reserve: Sebastien Buemi)
Engine: Renault

Sebastian Vettel left Red Bull to join Ferrari and he’s now replaced by Russian Daniil Kvyat who made his F1 debut racing for Torro Rosso Renault in the 2015 Russian GP. He’ll be joined by Daniel Ricciardo who won two races last season. They’ll be driving the Renault powered RB11 car.

3. Williams

Drivers: Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa
Engine: Mercedes

Bottas and Massa will still be the main drivers for Williams Martini Racing. They’ll be using the new Mercedes powered FW37 car.

4. Ferrari

Drivers: Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen (Reserve: Esteban Gutierrez)
Engine: Ferrari

Former F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel will replace Fernando Alonso as one of the main Ferrari drivers. He’ll be joined by `Flying Finn’ Kimi Raikkonen. Esteban Gutierrez who was one of the main drivers for Sauber last year will now be a reserve driver for Scuderia Ferrari. They’ll be using the new SF15-T car.

5. McLaren

Drivers: Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button (Reserve: Kevin Magnussen)
Engine: Honda

After 23 years, McLaren will once again use engines made by Honda. Fernando Alonso replaced Kevin Magnussen as one of the main drivers for McLaren. The Dane will now be a reserve driver for the team. After much speculation over his future last year, Jenson Button will still be racing for McLaren this season.

6. Force India

Drivers: Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez
Engine: Mercedes

Force India was one of the teams which experienced financial difficulties last year, but they’re back for the 2015 season with the same set of drivers. Hulkenberg and Perez will be using the new Mercedes powered VJM08.

7. Toro Rosso

Drivers: Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz
Engine: Renault

Jean-Eric Vergne and Daniil Kyvat will be replaced by youngsters Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz Jr who are also both members of Red Bull’s junior racing team. Max (17 years old) will be the youngest driver to compete in F1 when the first race takes place in Australia. Max already made history last year as the youngest driver to participate in an F1 free practice during the Japanese GP. They will be racing using the Renault powered STR10 car.

8. Lotus

Drivers: Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado (Reserve: Jolyon Palmer)
Engine: Mercedes (from Renault last year)

Both Grosjean and Maldonado will continue as the main drivers for Lotus. After a disappointing season last year with Renault, Lotus has chosen to collaborate with Mercedes this season. The German engine maker has come up with a E23 hybrid engine for Lotus.

9. Sauber

Drivers: Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr (Reserve: Raffaele Marciello)
Engine: Ferrari

Sauber will also have a new set of drivers this year. Esteban Gutierrez is now a reserve driver in Ferrari and they didn’t make a new offer to Adrian Sutil. Felipe Nasr, who was a test driver for Williams last year will now be one of their main drivers. He will be joined by Marcus Ericsson who raced for Caterham last year. They will be using the Ferrari powered 34 for this year.

10. Manor Racing (formerly Marussia Ferrari)

Drivers: TBC
Engine: Ferrari

Marussia will now be competing under the new name Manor Racing. Marussia had its worst season last year after one of its drivers Jules Bianchi had a serious accident in Japan and then it went into administration during the later part of the season which caused it to miss the last three races.

They’ve already paid the entry fee to compete this year, but it’s still uncertain whether they will be allowed to compete. Force India blocked Marussia’s entry because of their plans to use old cars. The FIA is yet to give a final decision on this matter.